The Effects of Soda on Gastroparesis

Gastroparesis is a condition in which the food in your stomach empties at a delayed rate. This can cause uncomfortable gastrointestinal symptoms and even lead to malnutrition. While there are medical treatment options, a new diet is typically the most effective way to manage symptoms.

Soda, to start things off, has no nutritional value so whether or not you have Gastroparesis…it is BAD for you! Don’t drink that stuff (as I sip on a cold Coke). Ugh not trying to be a hypocrite because I do occasionally enjoy my Dr. Pepper, Sprite or Coke depending on my mood. At that point, my stomach doesn’t care what mood I’m in. If it’s going to reject it it’ll reject it and it won’t be pretty. I suffer from IBS too so it’s always a mystery as to what will happen in my tummy after I consume a carbonated drink such as a soda.

Soda contains no nutrients outside of refined carbohydrates. Soda also has carbonation, which can increase intestinal discomfort and gas. You might have an easier time drinking flat soda. If you have diabetes, a steady diet of soda can play havoc with your blood sugars. Soda is also hard on your teeth; if you have gastroparesis, you might already have tooth decay issues because acid from vomiting wears down the enamel on your teeth that helps protect them from decay, Parrish warns. Registered dietitian Carol Rees Parrish of the University of Virginia Health System states.

Try not to rely on soda for liquid nourishment if you have gastroparesis. Smoothies or shakes that contain protein have more nutritional value than drinks containing refined carbs. Drink small amounts at a time rather than consuming three larger meals. Sitting up can also help food or liquid pass more easily. Work with your doctor or dietitian to devise ways to improve your nutrition and decrease your reliance on drinks such as soda.

Source:

Published by Magick, Potions & Nature

Merry Meet! Iโ€™m a Wiccan and Witch in training going by the One Year and One Day rule. Iโ€™m a mix of a lot of things: I am one with nature ๐ŸŒณ I am one with the sea ๐ŸŒŠ I have a strong bond with animals ๐Ÿฑ I follow the old traditional ways ๐Ÿ“– Iโ€™m a Witch tapping into her powers ๐Ÿ’ซ I enjoy gardening & herbalism ๐ŸŒฑ My spirit animal is the ๐Ÿฆ‹ Iโ€™m Cancer โ™‹๏ธ ruled by the Moon ๐ŸŒš Iโ€™m a HSP & INFP โ™ฅ๏ธ Iโ€™m a mother & wife first ๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿป Blessed Be! ๐Ÿ”ฎ

Leave a comment

Something Wiccan Ltd

A unique gift boutique in Crawley, UK

Doing the Daily Witch

Challenge: Do the Witch Thing Daily

Witchcraft & Wicca Guide

A guide to available resources about Witchcraft and Wicca.

wiccan moons

follow your own rainbow colored path

Northern Lights Wicca

Handmade Wiccan Goods and Crafts

Magick, Potions & Nature

"quit hiding your magic, the world is ready for you"